The LAM Foundation 2019 Grant Awardees

Posted on January 06, 2020   |   

Michael Evans, Yan Tang, Jane Yu, Katharina Maisel, Miguel Angel Pujana, Cormac McCarthy.png

The LAM Foundation is proud to announce our 2019 Grant Award winners, which this year resulted in funding three LAM research projects:

One Year Pilot Award: Michael Evans, PhD, from the University of California San Francisco – “Applying 68Ga-citrate PET/CT and PET/MR to Measure LAM Disease Burden”

3 Year Career Development AwardYan Tang, PhD, from Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston – “Deciphering Role of Estrogen in LAM Cell Stemness Maintenance”

2 Year Established Investigator AwardJane Yu, PhD, from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine – “Role of Homeobox Genes in Hormonal Regulation of Transcriptional Activation in LAM Progression”

In addition, this year the Foundation also awarded 3 Seed Grants for those investigators to fund the collection of promising preliminary data for submission in 2020 grant cycle:

Katharina Maisel, PhD, from the University of Maryland – “Immunomodulatory Effects of Lymphatics in Pulmonary LAM”

Miguel Angel Pujana, PhD, from Bellvitge Biomedical Research Institute, Spain – “Study of Monoamine Metabolism in LAM: Novel Biomarkers and Therapeutic Opportunities”

Cormac McCarthy, MD, from St. Vincent's University Hospital, Dublin – “Use of Gallium-68 DOTA PET/CT to Determine Disease Activity in LAM”

The 2019 Penn Medicine Orphan Disease Center Million Dollar Bike Ride (MDBR) Award:

Carmen Priolo, MD, PhD, from Brigham and Woman’s Hospital, Harvard University, Boston, was selected to receive the MDBR Pilot Award: “Targeting Mitochondrial Oxidative Metabolism in LAM Using a First-in-class Lipoate Analog”

CLICK HERE for more information


No Comments

You need to login to comment.
Sign In to Participate
Or register to become a member